Four Things Museums Can Learn From Sharknado

While I pack, unpack, pack, and repeat a few times during an especially busy July, I thought I’d share this fun & insightful post from Museum Minute. Even if you haven’t (yet) seen Sharknado, this article nicely sums up some key concepts that museums and all non-profits can easily embrace to better serve audiences. What do you think?

Museum Minute

This is not a paid endorsement for The SyFy Channel. In fact, I understand that SyFy isn’t for everyone – just like C-SPAN and Powerblock TV isn’t for everyone.

I’m a sucker for SyFy movies. As someone who lives and breathes history, which I find incredibly exciting (and at times exhilarating), the thing about history is that it isn’t always so happy. That being said, there is always something to be learned from history, a silver lining (no matter how small or seemingly unimportant), and the repercussions of history cannot be argued. While it’s hard for a history lover for me to admit, I completely acknowledge (and agree) that history can be a downer. After a long day of reading about chattel slavery, the civil war, segregation, genocide, etc., I truly appreciate a bizarre SyFy film.

So, why am I talking about SyFy films?

If you missed the cultural…

View original post 1,418 more words

Leave a Reply

